History of The Hale On Wheels Cycling Club
by Judge Ed Self (March 2014)

The cycling club grew directly out of the first Hale on Wheels Cycling Event during Cowboy Days in 2009.  Sandra Aven was publisher of the Plainview Daily Herald, who sponsored Cowboy Days, and also the President of the Plainview Chamber of Commerce that year and had the idea that Cowboy Days needed the addition of a new event.  She suggested a bike ride.  My wife Mary Anna was a friend of Sandra’s and also on the Chamber of Commerce board.  When Sandra suggested a bike ride to Mary Anna, of course, knowing I had been to some organized rides, volunteered my help to put on the ride.

The Chamber, through Sandra’s help, signed on as sponsor and the ride happened.  After that ride, in Sept 2009, I saw that there were several cyclists in the Plainview area that participated in the ride that I didn’t know were riders.  I thought a cycling club might work here, so I sent out letters to all persons who I could identify inviting them to an organizational meeting to see if there was enough interest in starting a club.  At that meeting, which was in October 2009, we had a good attendance, I think around 25 -30 people.  The consensus at the meeting was that there was enough interest, so we set dates and times for, and conducted later meetings, about once per month, and I sent out a little newsletter to keep everyone informed.

We didn’t elect any officers and I just acted as organizer without title.  We had several meetings and finally decided on a name (we didn’t have a name for a while) after Mitch Self suggested we call the club the Hale on Wheels Cycling Club after the ride’s name.

For the first several years, there were no officers. It was not until 2011, Tim Hardage became the first President, Gabriel Martinez the first Vice-President Newsletter Editor, myself, Webmaster Jeff Earhart, and Secretary/Treasurer Randy Kaufman.

The club was started to give area riders a group with common interests, to get together for rides, and to share information and social interaction.

History of Club Officers

2015-2016: Ron Appling
2013-2014: Gabriel Martinez
2012: Randy Kaufman
2011: Tim Hardage
2009–2010: Judge Ed Self (Organizer & unofficial President)

Vice President
2015-2016: Tara Fox
2013-2014: Ron Appling
2011-2012: Gabriel Martinez

2011-2016: Randy Kaufman

2011-2016: Jeff Earhart

Membership Coordinator
(In 2015: Changed from Newsletter Editor)
2015-2016: Sandra Aven
2011-2014: Judge Ed Self